Basic Terms of Shinto

back to Table of Contents
U[prev] [next]Y



A shrine dedicated to a divided or "apportioned" spirit (go-bunrei). Three types of wakamiya include (1) those established to console the go-bunrei of a deity enshrined in a main shrine; (2) those established to console the go-bunrei of the offspring of the main god; (3) those established to console a vengeful spirit.

Watarai Nobuyoshi (1615-1691)

A hereditary priest at Ise no Jingû who was instrumental in the development of so-called "later Ise Shintô" (see Ise Shintô). Watarai rejected the Buddhist tendencies in Ise Shintô, introduced Confucian elements, and emphasized the close relation between religion and morality in his efforts to popularize Shinto.

Watarai Shintô

see Ise Shintô


Disaster. In ancient times, wazawai was regarded as a type of fault (tsumi) to be removed by harae. It was thought that anyone who had been exposed to disaster should undergo physical and spiritual purification in order to return to the community of those participating in religious rites. Harae was, in this sense, viewed as a magic force capable of transforming disaster into blessing.

U[prev] [next]Y
back to Table of Contents

Copyright © 1997 Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics, Kokugakuin University. All rights reserved. [copyright notice]